The Extraordinary Ordinary

The sun is shining today and it’s almost warm enough for shorts and a t-shirt…almost. This makes me a happy girl. I struggle with depression, and there a plenty of bad days. I wish I could control when I get good days, but most of the time, I can’t.

So I take the good days when I have them, and I savor them. I mean, really savor them. I drink them in like refreshment to my thirsty soul. Sometimes, there are only moments like that. It’s a perfect song on the radio that touches you heart. It’s the warm hug of a friend you haven’t seen in a while. It’s a sunset that paints the sky unimaginable colors. It’s a bubble bath or a fun fiction book or snuggling with your cat or tickling your little one or playing hide-and-seek with your spouse.

It’s splendor disguised by the ordinary. Sometimes, if you slow down enough to appreciate it, those moments are exactly where beauty and peace are hidden. backyard 2.19.14

Like today. I’m taking a break from work to lay in the yard and watch the puffy white clouds roll by. My skin is soaking in the sunshine, warming me from the outside in. I’m listening to the breeze rustle the branches in the trees, and I swear, I can smell the first hints of spring.

Will there be more cold, more snow…more sad days? Probably.

But today…today the sun’s out.

2 thoughts on “The Extraordinary Ordinary

  1. You are really living in the moment! how beautiful! Your right, there is peace and beauty hidden in those little things 🙂 xxx

  2. Enjoyed the post. After all the cold weather here in Texas we finally had some warm sunshine filled days. It is indeed like medicine for the soul. Last Saturday we went to the park and just walked around and sat talking. Just so we could enjoy the warmth of the sun for a change. Love you!

Leave a Reply

